God Save the Tongue of David Letterman

AN OPEN LETTER TO DAVID LETTERMAN:

Dear Dave,

I’m not one to write fan letters, but I’ve followed your career for some time, and I thought I’d let you know how I feel (not that I actually think you read my blog, but what the hell).

I’ve been a fan for a long time. In fact, when I was twelve years old and on summer vacation, I faithfully watched The David Letterman Show every weekday morning on NBC.  That was around the time my mother first started to suspect something was weird about me.  I grew older and began staying  up late on school nights while in high school to watch Late Night with David Letterman, and I have also watched just about every episode of The Late Show on CBS. Sometimes you’re funny, sometimes not so much.  Sometimes (especially back at NBC) you were a little grouchy.  But all in all, I like watching you and I think you do a great job.

Sometimes bad things happen in life, and the world has seen bad things in your life play out before their very eyes – from a quintuple bypass to a stalker; from kidnapping and extortion attempts to studio vandalism – I’ve read all about them.  But something different happened this week.  I heard the latest news about you, and instead of simply reading about it and moving on to the movie listings or horoscope, I felt the need to do something.  Of course, I’m referring to the Jihadist plot to kill you and remove your tongue because you are a “lowly Jew” who mocked the deaths of Osama bin Ladin and Muhammad Ilyas Kashmir.  It deeply disturbs me to know that there is a posting on an  al-Qaeda message board requesting that Americans kill you and remove your tongue.  It also saddens me to realize that the al-Qaeda members who post on their message board don’t even bother to check Wikipedia to learn that you were raised Presbyterian.   I’ve thought about this, and the only thing I can think of to do is to make a plea for all of the readers of my blog to pray for the safely of both you and your tongue.  God save the tongue of David Letterman!

In Peace,

Jeff

Leave a Reply

